Senator Diane Griffin

We’re committed to keeping our readers informed

We’ve removed our paywall so all can enjoy PEI’s best local content during the coronavirus crisis. Please consider supporting the vital role of local journalism in our community and province. Subscribe now

The Senate Standing Committee on Agriculture and Forestry is finally getting down to business.

The committee has not met since June of 2019 with the exception of re-electing Island Senator Diane Griffin of the Canadian Senators Group as chair and Colin Deacon of Nova Scotia (part of the Independent Senators Group or ISG) and Conservative Senator Victor Oh from Ontario as co-chairs.

The meeting, to be held April 22 by videoconference, will hear witnesses on the impact of the Enbridge Line 5 Pipeline Shutdown on Canada's agricultural sector. The meeting, which begins at 10 a.m. Atlantic time, will then go in-camera to draft an agenda for future business.

The other members of the committee are; Robert Black (CSG Ontario ); Nancy Hartling (ISG New Brunswick); Marie Francoise Megie (ISG Quebec-Rougemont); Terry Mercer (Progressive Senators Group Northend Halifax); Julie Miville-Dechene (ISG Quebec-Inkerman); Chantel Petitclerc (ISG (Quebec-Grandville); Donald Neil Plett (Conservative Manitoba-Landmark) Yonah Martin (Conservative British Columbia) and Julie Milville-Dechene (ISG-Quebec-Inkerman)

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.